I Take Care of My Own Needs (An Affirmation)

lotus-1281364-m
One thing that I hear from women who have had a cancer diagnosis say all the time is “I’ve always taken care of everybody else first.” If cancer isn’t a wake up call that WE NEED TO TAKE CARE OF OURSELVES FIRST, then what is? People pleasing seems to be especially prevalent among women cancer survivors. Here is a little affirmation which you can use to help you to take care of your own needs and start putting your health and wellbeing first.

************************************
I take care of my own needs.

Although I cherish my close friendships, being independent is important to me. To be independent is to feel a sense of autonomy, that I can be okay because of my own choices and efforts.

It is true that I have a lot of needs to fulfill. But it is also true that I ensure my needs are taken care of.

I plan delicious healthy snacks and meals that I love and I make sure to move my body everyday because it feels wonderful to be alive.

I am the master of my own life. It is invigorating and freeing to recognize that I have complete control over how I experience life. Because I am a strong person, I make my way and provide self-care however I see fit.

Although I have an independent nature, taking care of some of my needs might require asking others for assistance. When I know that I need help, I ask for it without hesitation. I am smart enough to realize when the input of others can assist me to achieve my goals.

Today, knowing I can take care of myself brings contentment to my life. Developing self-awareness about my capacity to take care of my own needs ensures I can continue to do so in the future.

My life is fulfilling and adventurous because I have the gumption to take care of me.

Self-Reflection Questions:

1. Do I take care of my own needs?

2. If I believe I require assistance in taking care of my needs, who do I depend on to help and why?

3. What are some steps I can take to ensure that I do everything possible to
take are of myself and my own life?

Click HERE to receive my TOP TEN ESSENTIAL CANCER SURVIVORSHIP TOOLS!

About Robin Maupin

I am a 17 year ovarian and endometrial cancer survivor. After my diagnosis, I made the decision that if I survived, I would do something to make a difference for women with ovarian cancer. Ten years ago, I founded a local ovarian cancer advocacy organization and began facilitating support groups for women with ovarian cancer. I am now a Cancer/Survivorship Certified Professional Coach. My experience as both a cancer survivor, as well as a cancer advocate and coach allows me to fulfill my goal of helping women with gynecological and breast cancers to find their way back to wholeness and health and an authentic life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment